Scheduling Ambleside Year 0.5

My son is 6, and he’ll be 7 right after the start of the new school year. I don’t think he’s quite ready to move into some of the longer readings that will take place in Year 1. However, I want him to get used to the idea of formal school time that gets more serious. Thankfully, there is an informal Year 0.5 that some AO moms put together. You can see the book list here.

Here is our weekly plan.  It translates out to about 10 readings per week (not counting bedtime Bible stories, character, or poetry). That will be 2 or 3 readings per day, which is what I aim for now with him. I’ve only been using picture books and encyclopedias up until now though, and this will be more of a cohesive plan covering lots of topics.

– Bible:  Together we will all do Bible time.  We all work on Scripture memory together and pray together to start our school time.  At bedtime, I will read from the Jesus Storybook Bible with him, and when we are through with that, I’ll read Storytime with the Millers and other books in that series.

– Character: This will be done at the table after Bible time together as a family, and I’ll be working over the summer to come up with exactly what and how I am going to add this to our school time. Suffice it to say, we’ll have a character concept for the month, and we’ll spend each day just going over what this concept looks like in real life. It will only take minutes.

– Fine arts:  For composer, artist, and hymn study, we will all do that together as a family as the AO schedule maps out.

– Math:  We’ll be working through Horace Grant’s Arithmetic for Young Children as our spine, but I’d like to read 1 living math book per week with him. This includes the MathStart Level 1 books as well as some other ones I found on the Living Math website:

  • Richard Scarry’s Best Counting Book Ever
  • 26 Letters and 99 cents
  • Mathstart Books (level 1)
  • Mystery of the Farmer’s Three Fives
  • The Money Tree
  • Ten Sly Piranhas
  • One Lighthouse, One Moon
  • One Hundred is a Family
  • Much Bigger than Martin
  • Math Man
  • Inch by Inch
  • How Many Snails
  • How High Can a Dinosaur Count
  • Fish Eyes: A Book You Can Count On
  • Even Steven and Odd Todd
  • Each Orange had 8 Slices

– Literature:  I’ll read 2 or 3 pages from the book “For the Children’s Hour” each week, making sure to skip any fairy tales or fables that might be planned for Y1.

– Poetry: I’ll read a page from The Real Mother Goose every day.

– Geography: I’ll read a chapter from The Seven Little Sisters Who Live on the Round Ball that Floats in the Air once a week. After this book is finished, I’ll either continue to the next book in the series (Each and All) or begin The Twins series – (The Irish Twins, The Dutch Twins, etc.).  It’ll depend on whether the Seven Sisters is a hit or not.

– Nature Study/Science:  In addition to getting out and doing nature study as a family, I’ll read 1 chapter from Clara Dillingham Peirce‘s series (Among the Farmyard People, Among the Pond People, etc.) per week. I also will read 2 books each week from the Let’s Read and Find Out Science Level 2 series.

– History:  I’ll read 2 chapters (one from each book) from Stories of American Life & Adventure and Stories of Great Americans for Little Americans per week.

– Phonics:  I’m going to begin using Easy Peasy’s method of using the McGuffey Primer for reading instruction. We’ve been using letter tiles and making some words up, and we will continue to do that through the summer, but when the new school year hits, this seems like a nice way to do it.

– Copywork:  I’m going to have him write the words he’s learning to read. Just one or two words a day.

– Free Reads: I’m going to read 1 picture book and 1 chapter from a chapter book recommended on the 0.5 book list per week. I’ll add to this list as I stumble across great book recommendations, which happens pretty often!

  • A Bear Called Paddington (C)
  • Big Susan (P)
  • d’Aulaire’s Book of Animals (P)
  • Ivy Cottage & sequels (P)
  • Little Tim & the Brave Sea Captain & sequels (P)
  • Miss Suzy (P)
  • Miss Twiggley’s Tree (P)
  • My Father’s Dragon & sequels (C)
  • The Hundred Dresses (C)
  • The Princess and the Admiral (P)
  • The Story of Holly & Ivy (P)
  • Two Bad Ants (P)
  • Our Animal Friends at Maple Hill Farms (P)
  • The Book of Cowboys (C)
  • The Book of Indians (C)

Our weekly schedule might look something like this:

  • Monday: Bible, character, fine arts, math, living math book, poetry, science reading, phonics, and copywork.
  • Tuesday: Bible, character, math, poetry, literature, geography, phonics, science reading, and copywork.
  • Wednesday: Bible, character, math, poetry, phonics, copywork, history reading, free read picture book.
  • Thursday: Bible, character, math, poetry, phonics, copywork, science reading, history reading.
  • Friday: Bible character, math, poetry, phonics, copywork, nature study, free read chapter book.

I hope this helps someone else trying to organize their year! If you have any free read suggestions, please leave them in the comments!!!

About wiseowlhomeschool

Homeschooling mom of 3 Work at home medical transcriptionist Christian Conservative
This entry was posted in ambleside and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Scheduling Ambleside Year 0.5

  1. Rachel says:

    This is very helpful, thank you! This will be my first year homeschooling, my oldest starts kindergarten in the fall.

    • Rose says:

      Thanks for visiting Rachel! I hope your first year is a big success! Make sure you visit the Ambleside forums for lots of support and advice. There’s also a Facebook group called Charlotte Mason Homeschoolers that has been a big blessing during my first year as well.

  2. Cosette says:

    This is a great help! I’m wavering on whether my daughter is ready for the reads in Y1 when she’s six, and was going to try a Y0.5 instead. She is ready for more formal school time, but I don’t think she’s quite mature enough to start the other reads and really get a lot from them. The book list you linked to and your ideas are a great start for me! Thanks!

  3. Amy says:

    This has been a great resource because my son has read all of yr. 0 for many years and we needed some other ideas. I love your book choices, one’s I had never heard of! We are really enjoying them! Particularly the geography and history choices! Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

